August 24 Emerging Artist Series: Spencer Clarke

7:30 PM

$15, $5 Students (25 & Under w/ ID)

CLICK HERE for tickets

Alex Melnychuck-trumpet, Simeon Roth-saxophone, Drew Sheets-trombone, Gus Woodrow-guitar, Spencer Clarke-piano, Patrick Morris-bass, Kai Felix-drums

Award winning pianist Spencer Clarke was born and raised in San Rafael, California. Currently living in Tucson, Arizona, he obtained a Bachelor of Music degree emphasizing Piano Performance and Jazz Studies from the University of Arizona. He began his jazz career playing saxophone and spent some time studying at The Jazz School Institute in Berkeley, California. After transferring to Arizona and spending some time under the tutelage of Professor Angelo Versace, he switched from saxophone to piano and began to hone his composition skills. As a composer he received an international award from the International Society of Jazz Arrangers and Composers for one of his small group pieces “There and Back.” His most recent accomplishments include writing for the U of A’s professional Studio Jazz Band as well as the schools’ top combo The Fred Fox Jazz Ensemble which performed his works at a Las Vegas Jazz Invitational in February. Also an accomplished electric bass player, Spencer is an active part of the Tucson professional music scene having worked with and composed for a wide variety of groups including, but not limited to the art rock group Earth Won, jazz metal group Resurrecting Id, and the house band at Art Espresso’s weekly Strawberry Jam.

The Nash Emerging Artists Series is a summer concert series features performances by young artists born in or based in Arizona. Curated by The Nash, the series provides a platform for these emerging artists to gain prominence in the jazz community. The Nash Emerging Artists Series is very much an educational program as well as a performance series. Those artists or groups selected to play in the series will be offered a free clinic by an experienced Arizona jazz educator in advance of their performance at The Nash.

Comments are closed.